Michael Haskins

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

2010 Spinetinger Award Winners

2010 Spinetingler Award Winners

This year’s turnout was greater then last years with a total of 4812 votes cast. That’s a huge increase from last year and we’ve seen growth every year. I think I speak for all of us here at Spinetingler when I say we’re glad to see more people participate in them and we have room for a lot more. We hope you enjoyed the awards as much as we did pulling them together. Hopefully at least one of the nominees made you curious enough to check it out because for us that’s the greatest reward.

You all did this. And you did something good.

Thank you and see you next year.

Winners are after the jump and are bolded

Best Novel: New Voice

A Bad Day For Sorry by Sophie Littlefield (D)
Balzac of the Badlands by Steve Finbow (D)
Dope Thief by Dennis Tafoya (D)
The Ghosts of Belfast by Stuart Neville (D)
I-5 by Summer Brenner
In Their Blood by Sharon Potts (D)
The Lost Sister by Russel D. McLean
Mixed Blood by Roger Smith (D)
Ravens by George Dawes Green
The Weight of Silence by Heather Gudenkauf (D)

Best Novel: Rising Star category

50 Grand by Adrian McKinty
Await Your Reply by Dan Chaon
The Devil’s Staircase by Helen Fitzgerald
Finch by Jeff VanderMeer
Last Days by Brian Evenson
Safer by Sean Doolittle

Best Novel: Legend

The Complaints by Ian Rankin
The Midnight Room by Ed Gorman
The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death by Charlie Huston
The Scarecrow by Michael Connelly
Shadow Season by Tom Piccirilli
Tower by Reed Farrel Coleman & Ken Bruen

Best Short Story on the Web

M-N-S (n) murder-necrophilia-suicide by Anonymous 9 from Plots with Guns
Flesh Rule by Frank Bill from Plots with Guns
Blurred Lines by Michael Moreci from A Twist of Noir
Survival Instincts by Sandra Seamans from Pulp Pusher
At Least I felt Something by Sophie Littlefield from The Drowning Machine
My Father’s Son by Alan Griffiths from A Twist of Noir
The Present by Mark Joseph Kiewlak from A Twist Of Noir
Insatiable by Hilary Davidson from Beat to a Pulp
A Wild and Crazy Night by John Kenyon from Beat to a Pulp
The Tut by Paul D Brazill from Beat to a Pulp

Best Mystery or Crime Comic/Graphic Novel

Back to Brooklyn by Garth Ennis, Jimmy Palmiotti & Mihailo Vukelic from Image
Britten and Brulightly by Hannah Berry from Metropolitan Books
Chew by John Layman & Rob Guillory from Image
Leo Pulp by Claudo Nizzi & Massimo Bonfatti from IDW
Low Moon by Jason from Fantagraphics Books
Noir by Various authors by Dark Horse
Parker: The Hunter by Darwyn Cooke from IDW
Scalped by Jason Aaron & R. M. Guéra from Vertigo
West Coast Blues by Jacques Tardi & Jean-Patrick Manchette from Fantagraphic Books
You Have Killed Me by Jamie Rich & Joelle Jones from Oni Press

Best Mystery/Crime Fiction Press, Publisher or Imprint

Bitter Lemon Press
Busted Flush Press
New Pulp Press
Serpent’s Tail

Special Services to the Industry & Community

The Big Adios
Friday’s Forgotten Books
My Little Corner

Best Reviewer

Jen Forbus
Lesa Holstine
The Nerd of Noir
Peter Rozovsky
Cory Wilde

Best Cover

Slammer – Cover design by Patrick Barry. Cover photograph by David Job/Gettyimages
The Manual of Detection – Designed by Meighan Cavanaugh
Poisonville – Graphic design by Emanuele Ragnisco
Finch – Illustration and design by John Coulthart
I-5 – Cover illustration by Roderick Constance. Designed by Courtney Utt
Inherent Vice – Jacket design – Tal Goretsky/Darren Haggar. Jacket image – Darshan Zenith/Cruiser Art
The Longshot – Horitaka’s knuckles tattooed by Dan Wysuph. Cover photograph by John Agcaoili
Nobody Move – Case illustration – Philip Earl Pascuzzo. Jacket design – Susan Mitchell
Peepshow – Cover illustration and design JT Lindroos.
The Hunch – Art – Richard Watts. Design Steve Hussy

Related posts:

  1. 2010 Spinetingler Award: Best Short Story on the Web nominees
  2. 2010 Spinetingler Award Nominees and Poll
  3. 2009 Spinetingler Awards winners
  4. 2008 Spinetingler Award winners
  5. The artists and designers for the covers nominated for a Spinetingler Award

FEEDJIT Live Traffic Map